skip navigation

Independent All-State

By Rick Staudt, 04/28/17, 5:00PM CDT


The Florida Association of Basketball Coaches (FABC) and Source Hoops present the 2016-2017 Boys Independent All-State Teams.  These fifteen players represent the best of the best for those schools that participate as Independents outside of the FHSAA or do not participate in the FHSAA playoffs.  Players were selected based on in-person evaluations, a review of all-area teams selected by media from around the state, and recognition from the Florida Association of Basketball Coaches.


Darius Days, 6-7 JR, Gainesville The Rock School

Trevon Duval, 6-4 SR, Bradenton IMG Academy

R.J. Barrett, 6-6 SO, Montverde Academy

Elijah Weaver, 6-5 JR, Oldsmar Christian

Mayan Kiir, 6-9 SR, Bradenton Victory Rock Prep


Jamari Wheeler, 6-1 SR, Gainesville The Rock School

Sylvain Francisco, 6-1 SR, Orlando West Oaks Academy

Luegentz Dort, 6-3 JR, Orlando Conrad Academy

Marcus Carr, 6-2 SR, Montverde Academy

Emmitt Williams, 6-7 JR, Bradenton IMG Academy


Nathanael Jack, 6-4 SR, Miami Calusa Prep

D.J. Russell, 6-7 SR, Jacksonville Potter’s House Christian Academy

Paul Person, 6-0 JR, Orlando West Oaks Academy

Dalvaun Mitchell, 6-5 JR, Oldsmar Christian

Donald Sloan, 6-0 SR, Orlando Conrad Academy